Show/Hide
Sign up HERE to register for emergency alerts from the City of Palm Springs! You'll receive everything from street closures to weather related incidents

Event Calendar

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

 

 

Cover to Cover Book Club

Return to Main Calendar

 

 

Cover to Cover Book Club

The meeting begins at 10:30 a.m. at the Mizell Senior Center at 480 S. Sunrise Way in Palm Springs. This month’s book is We Were Rich and We Didn't Know It by Tom Phelan. Check the website for all book selections. 

The group meets the 2nd Thursday of every month from 10:30 -11:30 a.m. The Mizell Senior center is located on the corner of Sunrise and Ramon at 480 S. Sunrise Way, Palm Springs, CA 92262. For more information visit the Mizell Senior Center's website or call 760-323-5689.

 


December 12, 2019

We Were Rich and We Didn't Know It by Tom Phelan

We Were Rich and We Didn't Know ItIn the tradition of Frank McCourt’s Angela’s Ashes and Alice Taylor’s To School Through the Fields, Tom Phelan’s We Were Rich and We Didn't Know It is a heartfelt and masterfully written memoir of growing up in Ireland in the 1940s.

Tom Phelan, who was born and raised in County Laois in the Irish midlands, spent his formative years working with his wise and demanding father as he sought to wrest a livelihood from a farm that was often wet, muddy, and back-breaking.

It was a time before rural electrification, the telephone, and indoor plumbing; a time when the main modes of travel were bicycle and animal cart; a time when small farmers struggled to survive and turkey eggs were hatched in the kitchen cupboard; a time when the Church exerted enormous control over Ireland.

We Were Rich and We Didn't Know It recounts Tom’s upbringing in an isolated, rural community from the day he was delivered by the local midwife. With tears and laughter, it speaks to the strength of the human spirit in the face of life's adversities.

 

 

 

 


Assisted Listening Devices (ALDs) are instruments designed to amplify sounds to make it easier for persons who are hearing‑impaired to enjoy a library program.

Anyone who requires an auxiliary aid or service for effective communication, or a modification of policies or procedures to participate in a program, service, or activity of the City of Palm Springs, should contact the ADA Coordinator, as soon as possible but no later than 48 hours before the scheduled event.

Return to full list >>